What a magical place! We were stunned when we arrived - Peycibeau completely exceeded our expectations
enquiries@peycibeau.com
or call Julia Tomkins
+44 7973 561 012

guest reviews

Lucy from Somerset, UK - August 2017

A perfect property for a family holiday

We wanted somewhere special to accommodate the family to celebrate my husband's birthday. The Grand Maison, Peycibeau was perfect for our two-week holiday. The house itself is beautiful, a testament to Julia's expertise in interior decor. The grounds are stunning; pleasant to either stroll through or to sit and watch the wildlife pass close by.

We spent every evening up at the pool house. The bar, bbq, music system and the large oak table suiting our party of nine (and two babies).

We booked Julia and Glen to cook us their famous pizzas one evening which was great fun and the pizzas were lovely. Having Glen and Julia on site (in the cottage) was a bonus. They were ideal hosts and we can only thank them for all their help during our stay. We spent many evenings sharing a drink with them by their fire pit (unfortunately the weather was not at its best).

We would definitely recommend the Grand Maison, it is not only an ideal base but also a lovely, comfortable home from home.

Claire from Surrey, UK - July/August 2017

Stunning property with amazing pool area

We had a wonderful holiday. The house was beautiful and perfect for our two families. We spent most of our time in the Summer House/Pool Area. It had a great outdoor kitchen, bar area and comfortable seating.

Glen and Julia were so friendly and helpful. They even organised a pizza evening for the kids, so we could go out.

The surrounding area was beautiful. We enjoyed bike rides along the old railway line, canoeing, high wires and a trips to prehistoric caves and medieval towns.

We would thoroughly recommend the property and will definitely go back.

Patricia from Michigan, USA - June 2017

Family Gathering Holiday

Our hosts greeted us upon arrival and graciously walked us through the property. They are very cordial and readily available to answer question about activities, attractions, and restaurants.

The property was very clean and well maintained. Spacious bedrooms, gathering areas, and a well equipped kitchen and laundry area. The large pool house with grill was a family highlight.

We highly recommend Peycibeau!

Gary from Sussex, UK - July 2017

Beautiful tranquil delight

Set in beautiful peaceful grounds, the house is beautifully furnished and equipped, you can just stand there taking it all in and feel the stresses and strains dissipating, sit back and relax.

The owners Glenn and Julia were very helpful, there when you need them but never intrusive, they were perfect hosts.

The house and gardens are beautifully kept and the wonderful pool area with bar and barbecue area is great and where we spent all our time. The bedrooms were comfortable and well-kept with plenty of bedding and towels.

The lounge with snooker table was great fun with many an evening spent playing, but most of our time was by the barbecue. Sarlat is nearby with good markets, restaurants and shopping. There are many places to visit and plenty of activities.

I would thoroughly recommend this property for a relaxing peaceful holiday.

Giles from Edinburgh, Scotland - July 2017

Excellent, well worth the stay

Had a wonderful time and lovely house. Great location and the cycle path close by was a real hit with the kids!

Julia and Glen are brilliant, highly recommend the Pizza evening they do - was brilliant! Will go back.

Laurette and Bob - August 2016

A fantastic family holiday

Thank you Julia and Glenn for the pleasure of 2 weeks in your beautiful house. We have had a fantastic family holiday with our children and grandchildren.

This was both a reunion and a holiday and the many facilities have allowed us to enjoy our time at Peycibeau.

The beer machine was a big hit and the pizza oven produced the best pizzas ever! Iím told it doesnít get better than this!

Once again thank you for your generous hospitality.

Judith - from Cheshire

A lovely holiday home for the family

We all - eight adults and seven children - thoroughly enjoyed our week in this lovely manor house. We made full use of the pool, trampoline and hammock as well as having great pizzas, made from scratch, by our now expert - thanks to Glen's excellent tuition - pizza chef. There is so much space for everyone, both inside and outside of the main house and the snooker table in the evenings proved to be a great success with the male members of the family enjoying a friendly game or two along with the occasional beer. Glen and Julia were extremely helpful with information about the locality and anything else that we wanted to know. We had a great day out on the river but, for the most part, with so much space of our own and so much entertainment on hand we spent most of the week happily enjoying all of the delights that Peycibeau has to offer. We could, and have, without reservation, recommend a stay here to anyone.

Linda - from Wiltshire

Superb property and wonderful location

We rented the Grand Maison, so we had access to the whole main house and cottage alongside. The house is spacious and very well appointed and maintained. The weather was very hot whilst we were there so made full use of the pool and adjacent pool house, with BBQ, pizza oven and bar area. The kids loved the freedom of the 42 acres and the parents enjoyed the happy children. Evenings were amazing as the light faded and the stars came out. Plenty to do in the Dordogne region locally, including canoeing and boat trips. The local village has everything you need to make it the perfect place for a relaxing holiday. Thanks Julia and Glenn.

Thomas - from Paris

Fantastic place to rest during summertime

I strongly recommend this place to spend sensational holidays with friend and family. Owners are very kind. We will be back for a third stay We loved the place especially the pool house

Cynthia - from California

"We stayed at Peycibeau for an entire month and loved every minute! We had emailed the owners back and forth for almost two years before our actual arrival, and they kindly answered all our questions. Even with all the communication that had gone before, we were both dazzled when we finally arrived. The grounds are magnificent, with giant trees, swooping meadows and lovely views across to the hills beyond, and not another property in sight!

The house itself was spotless and had all the conveniences. The very capable cleaning crew came once a week. They were able to provide us with an English speaking chef for the week all of our family visited and even a masseuse for when they departed! When our family was with us, we were fourteen, and the beautiful pool and pool house were major attractions and the scene of every dinner, with plenty of room to move about .... the grandchildren loved the trampoline, and tree-house and the space!

The Dordogne area is heaven for "family fun". The painted caves, castles, gardens, and villages make for superior sightseeing, plus river kayaking, walking, biking and ballooning bring another level of excitement...we did it all! Eating is a major pastime and never disappointing - visiting villages on market day - especially the fabulous medieval town of Sarlat is always inspiring and fun. We were there for Bastille Day, and we all went to Sarlat to watch the fireworks celebration ... a great memory.

In short, we loved the house, Julia and Glen were perfect owners, and our family has some enduring memories of our time together."

Duncan - from Devon

We were lucky enough to stay at Peycibeau for a two week family holiday and had the most wonderful time. Before our arrival the owners had been extremely helpful in answering our questions and queries. We were travelling with a small child and a baby and nothing seemed too much trouble.

On arrival the property surpassed expectations. Our party consisted of 6 adults and 2 children. We have never had such spacious accommodation in such a fantastic setting. However, the icing on the cake was the pool house with the pizza oven. We loved it. The property and grounds are looked after by a very helpful English caretaker who lives nearby and is a great source of local information.

The village of Carsac has great amenities including a really good bakery, butchers and a couple of family friendly restaurants. Can't wait to come back!

Peter - from California

"My two brothers and I stayed at Peycibeau (the main chateau) with our families for a week in August 2011. We were a total of 6 adults and 7 children. It was an ideal vacation that exceeded all of our expectations. It would be hard to find accommodation with more charm or elegance than Peycibeau.

All rooms well-furnished and clean, and the grounds stunning. Add in the excellent pool and poolhouse, trampoline, swingset, etc., and I'd have to say that Peycibeau was EXACTLY what we were seeking for our vacation rental. I would recommend Peycibeau to anyone, but particularly to families with children.

I'll point out a couple of drawbacks, but these were overwhelmingly outweighed by the positives: 1) It was unusually hot during our stay, and two of the bedrooms did not have A/C units. 2) The upstairs layout was a little funky, such that one of the larger bedrooms did not have a direct means of entry. In other words, my wife and I had to walk through kids' bedrooms to enter or leave our room. And three bedrooms shared one huge bathroom.

Back to the positives: Julia, the owner, is great. Helped with everything we needed both before and during our stay. The surrounding area is terrific. Every nearby town has unique charm and hidden pleasures. (Bring a GPS to get around via the small roads.) When we weren't just lounging around the Peycibeau pool, our activities included: caves, castles, gardens, hot air ballooning, a zipwire park that the kids loved, restaurants in small scenic towns, ice cream everywhere, quirky museums, markets. Overall, a most memorable vacation in a most memorable house."

Juliette - from Wiltshire

"In August 2010 we went to stay at Peycibeau, which is a 15 minute walk away from the village of Carsac and the nearest croissant. There were 8 of us - two families, each with 2 x 18 and 2 x 21 year olds.

As the drive turns, and you get your first glimpse of Peycibeau sitting comfortably amidst the rolling meadows, you do wonder how the owners could leave it for us to enjoy. It is very special indeed and hard not to fall a little in love with the place.

On arrival we were met by Robert, who looks after the house extremely well in the owners' absence, and we knew we were in good hands - for example there had been some confusion about pool towels (not included) and we did not bring any - not a problem, Robert kindly lent a bundle of towels for us to use within hours.

The main house (we did not take the annexe) was incredibly well presented. The beds had cotton sheets/duvet covers and there was a good supply of bath towels. The configuration of bedrooms upstairs is that one of them leads to the main bed (with wall-mounted, flat-screen tv - very popular) and that they, and one other, all share a huge, en-suite bathroom - there is a further bed with en-suite shower room - downstairs there is a cavernous bedroom with en-suite overlooking the delightful front courtyard. There is also a huge drawing room, with a good racing demon table, and a sitting room with TV and Sky. Kitchen is smallish, with all white goods, and seats 6. However, as I write this review, I realise that we hardly used the living rooms and spent considerable time in the lovely pool house, eating most meals here too. We had good fun making pizzas and cooking them in the pizza oven and had several barbeques as well - the pool house is well equipped but, sadly for us, lacked a dishwasher [it now has one!] The pool is lovely too.

We hired bikes one day (delivered to the house) and cycled along the old railway to Sarlat for lunch- great fun and safe too. We also canoed down the Dordogne (with the flow) which we all enjoyed - you beach at a certain point and are taken back by minibus to, literally, the bottom of the road leading to Peycibeau.

I highly recommend Peycibeau to you - the area is delightful (in August, do get up really early to visit wherever to beat the crowds) but most of all, you will have a delightful, first-rate holiday home so really there is no need to get up early, save for the person on the croissant run! DON'T hesitate on this one and bonnes vacances!"

Michelle - from Cambridgeshire

"We stayed at the Chateau for a week in July and had a brilliant time. It was very clean, and very well equipped, and the interior was of a very high standard. The outdoor eating area was fantastic - we had bbq's nearly every night and enjoyed cooking in the outdoor pizza oven. It's a great place to stay for families and likewise if you were planning an adult only holiday. We felt it was very good value and the area was great if want to go out and explore. We can't wait to go back"

Justine - from Twickenham

"We arrived at Peycibeau after a long drive, hoping against hope that our holiday home would be half as good as it looked and sounded on the Peycibeau website. As we drove up the long driveway we began to relax, the place looked magnificent. We parked the car and explored immediately. We couldn't believe how wonderful Peycibeau was! It exceeded our every expectation and more. We were overjoyed. The children ran out across the parkland to look for animals and wildlife.

On our first night they saw deer and listened to the woodpeckers. The Grand Maison is spacious, airy and totally luxurious. Its design qualities are enviable and the place is huge - perfect for sharing with a number of other families. We were there with four other families (one of which used the cottage) and not once did we feel on top of each other. The enormous living room in the Grande Maison has the most beautiful piano, much to our happy surprise as a couple of our party love to play.

The summer house was the icing on the cake and made the holiday truly magical for us. You can happily while away your whole day and evening here and don't even need to take the short walk back to the house to shower or visit the loo! It is fully equipped with a kitchen, shaded living area, huge BBQ, coffee machine and even a bread oven where we cooked our home made pizzas! Sitting by the poolside at the end of the day, glass of rose in hand, admiring the view and listening to the wildlife, were quite the most magical moments of our holiday. We would totally recommend Peycibeau and have already to friends and family, and will be visiting again this year.

Everything as described on the website is accurate. I would just say perhaps the photos don't and can't do it justice! The property was very clean and well maintained and we were able to call on immediate help with any queries. The surrounding area is beautiful. We would recommend canoeing, visiting the castles (especially Castlenaud which the children LOVED!) and enjoying Sarlat. The owners are delightful - very helpful and welcoming if you have the good fortune of meeting them! "

Contact Julia Tomkins by telephone - +44 7973 561 012 enquiries@peycibeau.com
All contents © Peycibeau.

Owners Direct apartment rentals